Tests Disabled by Default

Besides the tests discussed above, the Operating System layer of a Linux server is mapped to quiet a few other tests that are disabled by default. To enable these tests, go to the enable / disable tests page using the menu sequence : Agents -> Tests -> Enable/Disable, pick the desired Component type, set Performance as the Test type, choose the test from the disabled tests list, and click on the >> button to move the test to the ENABLED TESTS list. Finally, click the Update button. The sections to come discuss such tests elaborately.

  • Disk Test
  • Disk I/O Performance Test
  • Network Errors Test
  • DNS Lookup Test
  • Inodes Test
  • Var Adm Messages Test
  • Inode Cache Test
  • Buffer Cache Test
  • Application Connections Test
  • Unix Tables Test
  • Paging Test
  • Process State Test
  • Nfs Mounts Test
  • OS Details Test
  • File Status Test
  • File Monitor Test

Besides the above, hardware monitoring expertise can also be optionally built into the Operating System layer. Please refer to the Hardware Monitoring document for further details.